Christoph Schaub

Christoph Schaub, born 1958 in Zurich, quit his studies of German to follow his interest in filming. He joined the Videoladen Zürich in 1981 and created his first films in the environment of the Zurich youth movement of the 80s. The most important works from this period are: “Keine Zeiten sich auszuruhn,” a film on the autonomous youth center Zurich, the movie “1 Lovesong” about a squatted house, and “Nachwuchs,” a portrait of Zurich’s Teddy scene. In the following years, Christoph Schaub became an autodidact with the goal to create full-length motion pictures for a cinema audience. He taught himself the necessary skills by working as a camera assistant, assistant director, and as a cutter. Christoph Schaub realized his first own feature film titled “Wendel” in 1987. Today, his cinematic work comprises 10 feature films and 16 documentaries of different formats.

He is known to a larger cinema audience as the director of successful movies such as “Giulias Verschwinden,” “Happy New Year,” “Jeune Homme,” or “Sternenberg.” Documentaries on architecture and urbanistic topics, however, constitute another important part of his creative work.

Schaub taught as a visiting lecturer at different schools from 1996 to 2004. He was a co-founder of the Morgental cinemas (1992 until their closing in 2002), as well as the studio cinemas RiffRaff (1998), Houdini (2014) in Zurich, and Bourbaki (2007) in Lucerne. Christoph Schaub is a member of the “Swiss Film Academy,” the European Film Academy” (EFA), and the “Asian Pacific Screen Academy.” His films receive broad attention and are celebrated on national and international level.

FEINHEIT Grafik Zürich – CI/CD, Webdesign, Flash, Webshop, XHTML/CSS

Christoph Schaub

Christoph Schaub, geboren 1958 in Zürich, brach das Germanistikstudium zugunsten seiner filmischen Tätigkeit ab und schloss sich 1981 dem Videoladen Zürich an. Innerhalb der Zürcher Jugendbewegung der 80er-Jahre entstanden seine ersten Filme. Die wichtigsten jener Schaffensperiode waren «Keine Zeiten sich auszuruhn», ein Film über das Autonome Jugendzentrum Zürich, «1 Lovesong» über eine Häuserbesetzung und «Nachwuchs», ein Porträt der Zürcher Teddyszene. Im Folgenden begann Christoph Schaub, als Autodidakt zu arbeiten, mit dem Ziel, eigene Kinofilme zu realisieren. Als Assistent für Regie und Kamera und als Cutter eignete er sich die dazu nötigen Erfahrungen und Kenntnisse an. 1987 realisierte Christoph Schaub seinen ersten Spielfilm mit dem Titel «Wendel». Heute besteht sein filmisches Werk aus insgesamt 10 Spielfilmen und 16 Dokumentarfilmen in verschiedenen Formaten.

Ein grösseres Kinopublikum kennt ihn als Regisseur erfolgreicher Spielfilme wie «Giulias Verschwinden», «Happy New Year», «Jeune Homme» oder «Sternenberg». Ein wichtiger Teil seines Schaffens sind jedoch auch die Dokumentarfilme zu architektonischen und urbanistischen Themen.

Von 1996 bis 2004 lehrte Schaub als Gastdozent an verschiedenen Schulen. Zudem war er Mitgründer der Kinos Morgental (1992 bis zur Schliessung 2002), sowie der Studiokinos RiffRaff (1998), Houdini (2014) in Zürich und Bourbaki (2007) in Luzern. Christoph Schaub ist Mitglied der «Schweizer Filmakademie», der «European Film Academy» (EFA) und der «Asian Pacific Screen Academy». Seine Filme erhalten national wie international grosse Aufmerksamkeit und Anerkennung.

FEINHEIT Grafik Zürich – CI/CD, Webdesign, Flash, Webshop, XHTML/CSS